Unchanged Kolkata Knight Riders bowl, Kings XI bring in Sam Curran

3:00 AM ETThe Report by Danyal RasoolFacebookTwitterFacebook MessengerPinterestEmailprint

Toss Kolkata Knight Riders chose to bowl v Kings XI Punjab

Kolkata Knight Riders put Kings XI Punjab in to bat after winning the toss in Mohali. It is a game that’s almost a must-win for two sides who began the tournament superbly but have since fallen on hard times. Kings XI must look to snap a three-match losing streak, and currently sit on ten points from 12 games. The Knight Riders have an identical win-loss record to the hosts, but have a shade more momentum with them after finally snapping a horror six-match winless run courtesy a 34-run win against Mumbai Indians on Sunday.

Kings XI captain R Ashwin admitted he would have liked to bowl first too, with dew expected later on in the evening. They made two changes to their side, with Mujeeb ur Rehman dropped after being smashed for a record 66 runs in his four overs in their previous outing. David Miller was also dropped with no end to his rut in sight. Sam Curran and Andrew Tye took their places. Dinesh Karthik’s side were unchanged, opting to stick with the team responsible for returning them to winning ways in the previous game.

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Mandeep Singh, Sam Curran, R Ashwin (capt.), M Ashwin, Andrew Tye, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders: Chris Lynn, Shubman Gill, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (capt. and wk), Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Sunil Narine, Piyush Chawla, Harry Gurney, Sandeep Warrier